6 min read

Source: Roblox Creator Hub · CC BY 4.0 · View source · Code samples: MIT Imported 2026-10-03. Formatting adapted for this site.

OAuth 2.0 app registration

Registering your OAuth 2.0 app allows it to access Roblox resources. After registration, Roblox assigns the app a unique client ID and secret that you can use to obtain authorization from users to access their Roblox information and resources.

Note

You can only register apps for individual accounts or groups that you own.

Register your app

To register an app:

  1. In the Creator Dashboard, go to the OAuth 2.0 Apps page.
  2. Click the Create App button.
  3. Enter a valid and globally unique Application Name.
  4. Read and agree to the Roblox Terms of Service and click Create.
  5. Copy and store the Client ID and Secret in a secure place. After closing the page, you no longer have access to the secret and can only generate a new one. After you finish registering an app, you can still access and edit the app's other properties.
  6. Click Continue to Edit to configure your app, which is described in the following sections.

Configure general information

Once you've registered your app, you should configure its general information, including:

Note

You can skip this section during app development and testing, but you must complete it during the review process to publish your app to users.

Add permissions

To ensure proper access control and security within your app, you must add Permission Scopes. There are two types of permission scopes available:

Note

First, select the App Category that best matches your app:

The available permission scopes update to show only the scopes for the selected category. Each app is expected to request the minimum number of scopes needed for its function. The set of scopes for an app must fall under a single app category listed in the Creator Third-Party App Policy.

Add redirect URLs

Redirect URLs are the reentry points of your app that users are redirected to when they finish authorizing your app. Ensure your redirect URLs meet the following requirements:

Note

You can skip this step during app registration and add the redirect URLs later when you have a testable version of your app.

Submit for review

To minimize the chances of malicious apps harming the community, registering an app doesn't make it broadly accessible. Instead, it remains in private mode with a limit of 10 unique users. This mode is helpful for testing and debugging within your team.

If you want to extend the user base for your app, you need to publish it in public mode by submitting it for review:

  1. Go to the OAuth 2.0 apps page.
  2. Click the Edit and Publish button for the app that you want to publish.
  3. Fill in all the required information, including the demo video and description, then click the Review and Publish button. A message with limits on your app permissions during the pending review period appears.
  4. Click Submit for Review.

The following information is required for your submission:

Note

Roblox uses your demo video and justification only to review your submission and does not make them public. Request only the minimum permission scopes that your app needs. Roblox does not approve scopes for planned or future functionality.

While your app review is pending, you can't edit or submit another request until the current review request is approved or rejected. Your app remains in private mode during the review. When your app is approved, it transitions to public mode, and you can't revert it back to private mode.

Regardless of whether your app is approved or rejected, you receive an email notification of the result when the review is completed.

Edit and delete your app

You can edit or delete your app with the following steps if it's not under review:

  1. Go to the OAuth 2.0 apps page.

  2. Click Edit or Delete for the desired app.

    • If you chose to edit an app, follow the same steps and requirements of registration.
    • If you chose to delete an app, click Yes, Delete to confirm deletion. After you delete an app, you can't recover it.

Modifying your app's general information or redirect URLs does not require users to reauthorize the app. However, if you add or modify permission scopes, you must obtain authorization for the new permissions from your users and acquire a new set of tokens. If you don't obtain authorization for the new scopes, your app can continue using the existing tokens, but is limited to the previous scopes.

For apps in private mode, the system automatically updates your edits with your users. For apps in public mode, you must submit the app for review again to reflect these changes. Otherwise, the system saves the unpublished changes for you without releasing it to the community.

Note

You can clone a copy of your public app and keep it in private mode for iterative testing and debugging. This allows for a controlled environment where you can safely make changes and resolve any issues before submitting the app for review.